Vintage Helmet and American Football Ball


If you are from Anywhere, USA, and happened to stumble upon this site, Franklin and Oil City are about eight miles apart along Route 8 in Venango County, Pa. -- which is about halfway between Pittsburgh and Erie in the western part of the state.

Penny Weichel, site editor

Covering high school football in Venango County, Pa.

Oil City's Region 8 two-way first team all-stars


RB-LB-P Cameron Russell

1,483 yards rushing

20 touchdowns

47 tackles, 8 sacks

Second team punter


WR-DB Dakota Cole

12 career INTs

21-493 receiving

14.9 avg. punt returns


OL-DL Mario Fontanazza

72 tackles

13 TFL, 8 sacks

263 career tackles


OL-DL A.J. Angros

30 tackles



QB-S Holden Stahl

1,470 yards total offense

24 total touchdowns

2 career INTs/160 attempts


WR-DB J.T. Stahlman

18-636 receiving

35.3 yards per catch

3 INTs, 10 PDs

...and league coaches also recognized...

Cade Adams, Franklin

First team WR

Mount Rushmore for Franklin receivers

133/2,183 career receiving

17 career TDs receiving


Brayden Crocker, Oil City

First team LB, second team all-purpose (TE/FB)

266 career tackles

4 career plays rushing, passing 80 yards or more


Sean Stack, Oil City

Second team RB, LB

45 tackles, 5 TFL, 3 sacks

857 yards rushing

17 TDs, 1,072 career yards rushing

Zac Kiefer, Oil City

second team LB

93 tackles

7 TFL, 5 sacks

198 career tackles

244 yards rushing (FB)


Justin Fagley, Oil City

Second team DL

14 sacks

4 sacks one game to tie school record

58 tackles,6 TFL 

Fontanazza two-way
region all-star for
3rd straight year

Not only was he the Player of the Year, but Oil City's Mario Fontanazza was a two-way region all-star for three straight years.

The 6-0, 290-pound lineman is the first Oiler to accomplish that, going back to the days when regions were called sections. There have been others who were two-time two-way all-stars, the last lineman being Mike Moon in 2010-11.

What's more, Fontanazza is the third consecutive Oil City player to win the Player of the Year award. Noah Petro won it last season and Christian Cole the year before.

Other first team repeaters were Oil City's Cameron Russell, who made it as an all-purpose back in 2019; Holden Stahl (DB) and junior Brayden Crocker (LB) and Franklin's Cade Adams (WR). 


Crocker (TE) and A.J. Angros (OL) on offense, and Dakota Cole (DB) on defense moved up from the second team.


Adams had his best season as a sophomore, but only made second team in 2018. He didn't have all-state QB Ian Haynes throwing him the ball this year, and his receiving stats showed the effects -- he didn't have a TD reception.


But he played a lot at running back and in the secondary in an effort to add stabilty to a very young Franklin team.


Fontanazza was named to the District 10 big school all-stars for the third straight year Dec. 24. It marks the second straight season he's been on the team as an offensive lineman, He made the team on defense as a sophomore.

Russell was named to the team for the second straight season, this time at running back. He was on the team as a defensive lineman last year when he was a sack machine (not that he wasn't throughout his career).

Also named were junior LB Brayden Crocker, the Oilers' all-time leading tackler whose last two campaigns were spoiled by season-ending injuries and safety Holden Stahl -- at last some post region recognition for this steady three-year, two-way starter.

ETN Player of the Year stuff will be announced in July  at the Northwestern Pa. High School sports award show --formerly Best of Varsity Cup. announced its inaugural team late Friday, Dec. 4, and five Oil City players were honored on that.

Kiefer was named Defensive Player of the Year and Fontanazza was picked Defensive Linemen of the Year.

Fontanazza was named as a lineman on both offense and defense. Kiefer was selected as one of the linebackers. Other Oilers named to the squad were Russell at RB, Fagley at DL and Dakota Cole at DB.


Fontanazza (DL), Fagley (DL), Cole (DB) and Russell (RB) were named Dec. 23 to the Pa. Football Writers Class 4A all-state team. The Coaches' All-State squad will be announced later this week. 

Russell (RB) and Fontanazza (DT) were named Dec. 30 to the Coaches Select all-state team.

Russell and Fontanazza are two-year all-staters. Russell made the Coaches team last year on defense and Fontanazza was listed as a second team OL as a soph.

Pa. Football News All-ACADEMIC teams:

(Oil City players)

GOLD (4.0 gpa) -- Asher Andres, Ashlee Douglas, Justin Fagley, Mario Fontanazza, Zac Kiefer, J.T. Stahlman

SILVER (3.50-3.99) -- Joe Flinchbaugh, Jacob Kuney, Cameron Russell, Sean Stack, Holden Stahl, Jayson Weilacher, Brayden Crocker, Cam Crocker

BRONZE (3.0-3.49) -- A.J. Angros, Dakota Cole, Seth Yeager,  Cam Schiffer