(Photo by Richard Sayer)

Gads...between the Erie Times News and D9and10Sports.com, there are so many awards being handed out, it's too hard to keep track. BUT, rest assured that Franklin junior Luke Guth got plenty of them. Click HERE (the Off-Season) page to see a complete (hopefully) list.

House of Hustle 'reno'

(short for renovation)


Here's the latest look at the Oil City High School gym makeover. AD Tim LaVan posted this picture on Twitter June 21. "Painted and sealed! Looks amazing!" he tweeted. Said the floor should be ready for playing next week.


Oil City


2022 Oil City schedule
2022 Franklin schedule
OCHS schedule has new look

There is a new look to the 2022 football schedule Oil City.

The Oilers will play out of Class 3A Region 4 in District 10 against familiar opponents – Franklin, Warren, Conneaut, and defending champion Meadville -- all holdovers from last year. But long-time rival Titusville will rejoin them in region (league play.)

At one time the Oilers had played the Rockets every year from 1915-2009, but since then meetings have been few and far between. There were games from 2015-2019 and again in 2020 due to a Covid reschedule. 

Also returning to the schedule is Corry. The two teams haven't played since 2017. At one time they played every year from 1950-76 when both were members of Section 2. Corry was the dominant team in that league until Franklin took over in the late 1950s.

Also joining Oil City's schedule are Hollidaysburg (a playoff opponent in 2018 and 2019), North East (another playoff opponent in 2009 and a regular season foe in 1951 and 1952) and Northwestern (a regular season opponent in 1932 when it was Albion).

That game against Albion was the first played on the new Mitchell Avenue Field. Oil City won 39-0 and blanked Corry the next game, but the Oilers, who averaged 150 pounds, scored only one more TD and failed to win another game the rest of the season.

The Oilers are scheduled to end the regular season at home against Sharon, a school they don’t usually play. But, the Tigers were on last year’s schedule, and won, 23-0.

This series began in 1905 with an Oil City victory, but they didn’t play again for 20 years. Then the Oilers played the Tigers every year from 1928-37, and at one point Sharon won 11 straight until Oil City stopped the streak in 2010.

'Forgotten foes' return to FHS slate

There’s a new look to the 2022 Franklin schedule as well.

The Knights will play out of Class 3A Region 4 in District 10 against familiar opponents – Oil City, Warren, Conneaut and defending champion Meadville – all holdovers from last year. But long-time rival Titusville will rejoin them in region (league) play.

Franklin last played Titusville in 2020, but that was their first meeting since 2017. The two teams played every year from 1907-2015, many of the last games non-leaguers since the Rockets had been sent to a sort of football “Siberia” – aka Mercer County where Titusville had zero natural rivals and drillings became a weekly ritual. (Don't forget, Titusville was pretty good in the oughts.)

The Knights will renew a rivalry with one of those Mercer County foes – Hickory. They haven’t played the Hornets since 2003 when they beat them 22-20 in a playoff game – under Tiger LaVerde! The Knights and Hornets first met in 1950 when Hickory  came into existence. At one time they played every year from 1972-1991 when both were members of the old Northwest Athletic Conference.

Also back on the Franklin schedule, and for the first time since 2003, is Mercyhurst Prep, an Erie school, which has produced Penn State linebacker Jesse Luketa (who hails from Canada.) Franklin won that 2003 game, 60-19. The series began in 1997 and the Knights hold a 5-2 advantage.

A new face on the Franklin schedule is Seneca, formerly known as Wattsburg.

The Bobcats were 3-5 last season with one common opponent – Fairview, which trounced Seneca, 56-26, in the season finale. However, Seneca did boast an outstanding sophomore, 5-11, 180-pound Noel Seabury, who checked in with 1,686 yards total offense.


Rounding out the Knights’ non-region opponents are General McLane and Lakeview. Franklin and McLane have played 11 times since their first meeting in 1999 with Franklin still seeking that elusive first victory.


The Knights played Lakeview in the 2021 season finale with the Sailors pulling out a 41-40 overtime victory in a game that was voted as the best in District 10.

Oilers in the weight room
during the off-season

Redbank Valley coach Blane Gold, a 2007 Franklin grad, was a coach for the West for the East-West all-star game May 29  in Harrisburg.


Gold received numerous coaching honors after guiding the Bulldogs to back-to-back District 9 1A title and a berth in the state finals in 2021.

Blane Gold in high school
How he looked in high school

Oilers on All-Academic list

Oil City players whose names appear on the PA Football News All-Academic teams:

Gold -- Alex Stevens, Cam Crocker, Dane Ley, Gavin Stephens, Hayden Wilson, Henry Milford, James O'Dell

Silver -- Austin Shoup, Brayden McFetridge, Ethen Knox, Kevin Pearsall, Travis Carbaugh, Walker Willey

Bronze -- Cam Schiffer, Jake Van Wormer, Justen Dunkle, Malik Carney, Tanner Kightlinger.

And in case you missed it...

Oil City school board voted 8-0 at its May meeting to rename the athletic complex at the high school in honor of the late Pat Patterson. 


"We did it!" Bryan Schwab announced Monday night on Facebook. Schwab worked tirelessly to get the job done.


The facility, which includes, the football field, will be renamed   the "Coach Pat Patterson Complex at the Oil Field."

West trounced the East, 49-14, in that small school all-star game May 29 in Harrisburg. Blane Gold was an assistant coach for the West. Here he poses with the trophy and his Redbank Valley players who played in the game. Gold is a 2007 Franklin grad.

About This Site

If you are from Anywhere, USA, and happened to stumble upon this site, Franklin and Oil City are about eight miles apart along Route 8 in Venango County, Pa. -- which is about halfway between Pittsburgh and Erie in the western part of the state.

route8rivalry.com (formerly venangofootball.com) covers the grid doings of Oil City and Franklin high schools in Venango County. It also includes the football histories of the two schools, which date back to 1896, along with that of Venango Catholic (nee Christian and formerly St. Joseph in Oil City), which dropped the sport in the 1990s. VC has been in co-ops with Oil City and Franklin since then.

This is a Wix site with longtime but former Derrick sports editor Penny Weichel serving as webmaster. She is the former webmaster of ocpafootball.com and franklinpafootball.com, and most of the information found there can be found here. Also added in the last two years is basketball covering all five Venango County schools (Cranberry and Rocky Grove, too) along with some wrestling and swimming and other fall/spring sports.

Contact pennyweichel@yahoo.com if need be.